SGHS Seniors Receive President’s Award for Educational Excellence

Nineteen (19) Ste. Genevieve High School seniors have received the President’s Award for Educational Excellence.  This awards program was established in 1983 by former President Ronald Reagan to recognize a high level of academic achievement.

Former President Reagan explained the program as follows:  “America’s future hinges on the education we give our children—on the knowledge and skills, the values and virtues we impart to them.  Citizens who have received such a well-rounded, deeply grounded education will lend unity to our society, strength to our economy, and vigor to our public life.  To help bring this about, I established the President’s Education Awards Program to honor students who have achieved excellence in their studies.”

Certificates signed by President Donald Trump with the President’s Award for Educational Excellence gold seal were presented to the recipients.  Seniors who qualify to receive the certificate are Matthew Bauman, Sean Beck, Katelyn Bloom, Deryn Brown, Dylan Burr, Lily Byrd, Morgan Doza, Thomas Engelmann, Rebecca Fallert, Claire Fischer, Dalton Giesler, Caitlin Grass, Carley Johnson, Ryan Palmer, Madison Reynolds, Sami Richardson, Addie Steagall, Daniel Vaeth and Vivian Vaughn.

These seniors qualified to receive this prestigious award by meeting the criteria outlined by the United States Department of Education.  They attained a 9.5 or better cumulative grade point average on an 11.00 scale through their seventh semester and received a score of 85 percent or higher in math or reading on a college admissions examination, such as SAT or ACT.


President's Educational Awards

Updated: 2 Jun 2017 — 1:49 pm
Ste. Genevieve R-II School District © 2017