Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
SGHS Celebrates Academic Achievements at Annual Dan Clark Honors Banquet
SGHS Celebrates Academic Achievements at Annual Dan Clark Honors Banquet
Bailey Otto
Tuesday, April 16, 2019

On Wednesday, April 10, Ste. Genevieve High School celebrated its students’ academic honors for the 2018-2019 school year at the annual Dan Clark Honors Banquet at the Ste. Genevieve Elks Lodge.

At this year’s event, junior Bryce Trollinger began the festivities by playing a musical piece on his trumpet: “The Maid of the Mist,” by Herbert L. Clarke. Then, the guest speaker for the evening was introduced, Mr. Chris Werner, retired Ste. Genevieve High School teacher and coach. Mr. Werner is an 1984 alumnus of the school district. He taught mathematics classes at the high school for 29 years and coached football, wrestling, cross country and track during that time, along with sponsoring several extracurricular activities. He spoke to the students on the importance of maintaining a focus on their goals, no matter which path they decided to take after high school.

This was followed by a presentation by Mr. Tyson Schaffner, with the Patched Overalls Experience, a project that offers one student each year the opportunity to fulfill a dream experience between their junior and senior year. He introduced senior Emma Flieg, the recipient of the 2018 Patched Overalls Award for the Class of 2019. She shared the story of her journey to a small town near Port Elizabeth, South Africa, where she spent three weeks volunteering at African Dawn Wildlife Sanctuary, an experience that she says helped to shape her future.

Each year at the banquet, the students in the top 10 percent of each class are recognized. Following the class honors, one student is awarded for his or her performance for each course offered at the high school. The lists of these students are included below. Following these awards, senior Abbey Engelmann was also recognized as Cadet Teacher of the Year.

Following the annual awards, senior Danielle Naeger was recognized with a certificate for Outstanding Service from Mr. Craig Hayden, the Director of the Perryville Area Career and Technical Center, for acting quickly, calmly and professionally in an emergency. Danielle is enrolled in the Health Occupations program at the PACTC. On Friday, March 29, a student began to have a seizure on the bus that drives the students to Perryville for classes. Without hesitation, Danielle jumped into action and began to administer first aid to the student. It was through her quick thinking, skills and support that allowed the bus driver and another teacher to act accordingly in handling the situation. Danielle stayed with the student until the medics arrived, and even then, she was able to offer a hand. Her award was more than deserving!

Congratulations to all of the students on their recognitions! Please see the individuals honors below.

Top 10% of Class:


  • Casey Ayers
  • Peyton Bequette
  • Kaden Buatte
  • Kylee Clayton
  • Kaylee Forhan
  • Serena Garcia
  • Mason Gegg
  • Paige Huck
  • Finnegan Jokerst
  • Maria Kemper
  • Russell Kirkhuff
  • Lily Lueken
  • Andrew Miget
  • Abigail Moore
  • Dezirae Powell


  • Virginia Akins
  • Breanna Boyd
  • Mariah Boyer
  • Alison Braun
  • Sydney Bumgardaner
  • Katelyn Fuller
  • Emma Johns
  • Keaton LaRue
  • Quentin Ponder
  • Hannah Reeves
  • Maci Reynolds
  • Adalynn Taylor
  • Alexandria Werner
  • Annie Yang


  • Margaret Bauman
  • Catherine Beck
  • Christian Boyer
  • Aiyana Evers
  • Jaida Greminger
  • Koby Hatfield
  • Alyssa Huber
  • Austin Kuehn
  • Julia McKlin
  • Kristen Parmeley
  • Ella Reed
  • Michael Ruch
  • Evan Walker


  • Abigail Braun
  • Abbey Engelmann
  • Samuel Fischer
  • Makenzie Heifner
  • Clayton Huck
  • Miranda Johnson
  • Lauren Mercer
  • Sarah Moore
  • Robert Muffler
  • Samuel Stolzer
  • Isaac Watson
  • Brooke Weiler

Each of the following students (listed alphabetically by surname) earned a medal for outstanding academic achievement in his or her individual class:

  • Cheyenne Abt, English II
  • Virginia Akins, Ag Science II
  • Ashley Armstrong, Business Tech
  • Jacob Bardo, Power Mechanics
  • Abigail Bates, English IV
  • Evan Bess, Advanced Woods
  • Marie Bethel, Foods
  • Breanna Boyd, American Government
  • Mariah Boyer, Chemistry
  • Christian Boyer, French III
  • Wyatt Boyet, Digital Media Production
  • Abigail Braun, Earth Science, College Algebra, Algebra II
  • Caleb Brewer, Entrepreneurship
  • Jessica Brown, Photoshop
  • Sydney Bumgardaner, CP English II, CP American Government
  • Finn Cavanaugh, Guitar
  • Katie Chapman, Animal Science
  • Kylee Clayton, Ag Science I
  • Geneva Crump, Creative Writing, Play Production
  • Abby Engelmann, Chorale, Cadet Teacher of the Year
  • Lucas Fahnestock, Engineering Graphics
  • Samuel Fischer, Computer Programming, Film
  • Emma Flieg, Statistical Reasoning
  • Kaylee Forhan, French II, Health
  • William French, Auto Tech I
  • Katelyn Fuller, Competitive Speech & Debate
  • Logan Gegg, Sports Broadcasting
  • Joslyn Geisner, Ceramics
  • Emily Gibson, Algebra I
  • Emily Grass, Girls Team Sports
  • Jaida Greminger, Fundamentals of Art
  • Ashley Gretzmacher, Computer Applications, Nutrition & Wellness, Early Childhood Professions - PACTC
  • Gavin Gross, Boys PE
  • Koby Hatfield, CP English III, Spanish III, CP American History, ACT Prep, Pre-Calculus, Trigonometry
  • Joshua Hayward, Integrated Math III
  • Chloe Heberlie, Biology
  • Makenzie Heifner, Anatomy & Physiology
  • Alaina Hocker, Integrated Math II
  • Karissa Holst, French I
  • Alyssa Huber, Accounting I, Drawing
  • Clayton Huck, Organic Chemistry, Spanish IV
  • Paige Huck, World History, Girls PE, Geometry
  • Tyler Huck, Intro to Computer Applications, Physics
  • Emma Johns, German II
  • Miranda Johnson, Painting, Mythology
  • Finnegan Jokerst, Spanish II
  • Jacob Kamadulski, Body Conditioning
  • Jared Kenik, Advanced Chemistry, English III
  • Taylor Kenser, Spanish I
  • Kyle Kiefer, Woods I
  • Julia Koetting, Advanced Biology
  • Lily Lueken, Integrated Science, German I
  • Samantha Martin, German III
  • Lindsey Martin, Band, Guitar II
  • Julia McKlin, Sculpture
  • Lauren Mercer, Psychology, FACS I
  • Abigail Moore, Video Production, English I
  • Sarah Moore, Drafting & Design, Personal Finance
  • Xavier Moore, Concert Choir
  • Robert Muffler, CP English IV, German IV, Sociology, Western Civilizations
  • Kyle Naeger, Fish & Wildlife
  • Kristen Parmeley, Modern America
  • Logan Pfaff, Ag Construction, Construction Technology - PACTC
  • Dale Propst, Intro to Industrial Tech
  • Hannah Reeves, CP Biology, Journalism
  • Montana Richardson, American History, Fundamentals of Music
  • Michael Ruch, Economics
  • Jonathan Ruebel, Industrial Engineering Technology - PACTC
  • Kaylee Schmelzle, Publications
  • Braden Schott, Adaptive PE
  • Angie Schwartz, World Foods
  • Morgan Sevier , Contemporary Issues, Child Development
  • Mary Skaggs, Turf & Landscape
  • Nicole Smith, Website Design
  • Emma Springkamper, Media Lit
  • Aaron Stacy, Boys Team Sports
  • Samuel Stolzer, Calculus
  • Bryce Trollinger, Jazz Band
  • Clayton Jonathon Joseph Vaughn, Auto Tech II, Residential Wiring
  • Brooke Weiler, Speech. French IV
  • Deondre Wilson, Show Choir
  • Apita Wongrasmethong, College Algebra with Applications