Bova and Diesel Elected to  Ste. Genevieve County R-II Board of Education

On April 6, 2021, voters re-elected incumbent David Bova to his fourth term, and elected Geralyn Diesel to her first term on the Ste. Genevieve County R-II Board of Education. 

Both candidates will be sworn in at 7 p.m. on April 20, 2021, at a Reorganizational Session scheduled before the regular board meeting in the SGHS Commons, 715 Washington St., 63670. The board will also select board officers at this time.

Mr. Bova was first elected to the board in 2012 and has served three terms since. He is currently the community development administrator for the city of Ste. Genevieve, a position he took after spending 25 years in retail sales. He is currently the Board president.

Mrs. Diesel has spent 24 years in public education as a teacher and administrator, with the last 16 years in the Ste. Genevieve County R-II School District. She became principal of Ste. Genevieve Elementary in 2015 and retired in June 2020. 

Community members Jamie (Naeger) Ballew, Larry Pfaff, and Josh Carlisle also ran for the two open seats on the Board of Education.

Mr. Bova and Mrs. Diesel will join current board members Eric Basler, James Kirchner, Terry McDaniel, Martha Resinger, and Rick Rudloff on the Ste. Genevieve R-II Board of Education. Board member Joan Huck made the decision not to run for re-election this year. She served for six terms on the Ste. Genevieve County R-II Board of Education. We want to thank her for her years of service and her dedication to our faculty and support staff, our students, and our families, and we wish her the best of luck in her future endeavors.