SGHS Students Recognized by GFWC Woman’s Club of Ste. Genevieve

Each year, the GFWC Woman’s Club of Ste. Genevieve hosts a recognition event for local students, celebrating their accomplishments, honoring them with scholarships, and sponsoring their participation in leadership conferences. At the Club’s meeting on Monday, May 10, twelve Ste. Genevieve High School students were recognized, and we would like to thank the GFWC Woman’s Club of Ste. Genevieve for their sponsorship and support of our students each year!

The following students were bestowed a scholarship:

  • Virginia Akins, Young Woman’s Scholarship

  • Adalynn Taylor, Helen Smith Scholarship

The following students were chosen to participate in a leadership conference:

  • Kylee Clayton, Summer 2020 Virtual Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership Seminar 

  • Madeleine Terry, 2021 Virtual Sophomore Pilgrimage

The following students were recognized for their performance in the GFWC’s Local Club Level Youth Writing Contest:

  • Poetry: 

    • Elizabeth Haas - 1st Place 

    • Ashlyn Wolk - 1st Place 

    • Jacob Burgan - 2nd Place 

    • Virginia Akins - 3rd Place 

    • Brett St. Clair - 3rd Place

  • Short Story: 

    • Reese Sartori - 1st Place

    • Ariella Taylor - 2nd Place

    • Madison Vaeth - 2nd Place

    • Lily Boyd - 3rd Place

The following students were then recognized for their performance in the GFWC Missouri State Level Youth Writing Contest:

  • Poetry:

    • Ashlyn Wolk, 1st Place, “When Will It End”

    • Virginia Akins, 2nd Place, “Alone at Home”

    • Brett St. Clair, 3rd Place, “Covid Was Noted”

  • Short Story:

    • Reese Sartori, 1st Place, “This Year in a Nutshell”

    • Madison Vaeth, 3rd Place, “The Coronavirus Disease”

Ashlyn Wolk and Reese Sartori’s first place writings will be sent on to the GFWC International Youth Writing Contest. 

Photo Caption: 

  • Kylee Clayton, Madison Vaeth, Adalynn Taylor, Virginia Akins, Ariella Taylor, Madeleine Terry, Brett St. Clair, Reese Sartori, Elizabeth Haas. Not pictured: Lily Boyd, Jacob Burgan, Ashlyn Wolk.