NJHS Holds Annual Induction, Welcomes New Members

The Ste. Genevieve Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society held its annual induction on Monday, April 25, 2022 in the Ste. Genevieve R-II Performing Arts Center. 

In addition to the strong academic records that established the eligibility for membership the NJHS chapter members are leaders in many student organizations and serve their school and community through many activities including volunteerism, fundraising for charity, and hosting social events. 

Chapter officers President Sophie Garcia, Vice President Jacey Bauman, Secretary Cecilia Mooney, Treasurer Kate Rowland, and Historian Millie Huffman led the ceremony and installed 31 new members with the traditional NJHS pledge and presented them with their membership pins. Also in attendance were nearly 42 returning members, students who continue to live up to the five standards of NJHS: knowledge, service, leadership, character, and citizenship. These returning members have volunteered a collective 1,253 hours in our school and our community since the end of September 2021.

Each year, the NJHS members nominate one teacher and one staff member to be recognized as the NJHS Teacher of Honor and the NJHS Staff Member of Honor. These are employees who uphold the ideals of the organization and serve as positive examples for SGMS students every day. 

This year’s NJHS Teacher of Honor is Mr. Justin Roth, an SGMS science teacher. Nominations described how Mr. Roth makes learning fun, how he is always there to help, how he motivates and inspires students, and how he provides a warm and safe learning environment. Congratulations to Mr. Roth on this recognition!

This year’s NJHS Staff Member of  Honor is Ms. Mallory Wipfler, an SGMS secretary. Nominations describe how Ms. Wipfler brightens everyone’s day by making them smile and laugh, how she always makes students feel welcome and how she builds strong relationships with the student office aids. Congratulations to Ms. Wipfler on this recognition!

The returning members and new inductees are recognized below. Congratulations to all!

Returning Members:

  • Nate Basler
  • Jacey Bauman
  • Sawyer Bauman
  • Alysa Beckermann
  • Olyvia Beckermann
  • Clementine Birkenstock
  • Kennedy Bowen
  • Allison Boyet
  • Emmerson Browne
  • Lillian Crossland
  • Keely Fallert
  • Luke Ferranto
  • Anna Fischer
  • Kennedi Fischer
  • Simon Fritsch
  • Sophie Garcia
  • Gavin Gegg
  • Millie Huffman
  • Lucille Hunsley
  • Vivian Kiefer
  • Olivia Kirchner
  • Miah Klein
  • Eleanor McKlin
  • Cecilia Mooney
  • Jake Parker
  • Briana Pfaff
  • Kierstyn Reeves
  • Levi Richardson
  • Colton Roth
  • Josef Rottler
  • Kathryn Rowland
  • Kacie Schemel
  • Elcie Schweigert
  • Jacob Sulser
  • Paul Taylor
  • Brian Vancil
  • Kailyn Warren
  • Chloe Wehner
  • Linley Wehner
  • Madden Wolk
  • Abigail Woodard
  • Chase Yamnitz


  • Jaydn Barron
  • Nino Batucan
  • Nolan Bauman
  • Hailey Davis
  • William Elder
  • Dane Evelsizer
  • McKenzie Greer
  • Kyler Gugel
  • Carter Howell
  • Gracie Ladd
  • Cadence Lanterman
  • Maria McGuire
  • Lilah Nix
  • Rebecca Palmer
  • Laurie Parker
  • Brayden Pfaff
  • Kaia Plati
  • Jersey Quinn
  • Lily Saupe
  • Kale Schmelzle
  • Hazel Schwent
  • Parker Stomberg
  • Gabriella Watts
  • Trenton Weber
  • Hailey Wells
  • Reese Wibbenmeyer
  • Halle Wichern
  • Franki Wittu
  • Aila Wolk
  • Bryna Wolk
  • Ava Zerwig