Ste. Genevieve County R-II Celebrates Employee Retirements & Recognitions

Ste. Genevieve County R-II School District would like to recognize and celebrate our 2020-2021 retirees and our staff members for their outstanding service for our students and our community! 


This year, 13 Ste. Genevieve County R-II employees have retired. We greatly appreciate their dedication, and every retiree will be dearly missed. Each one of them touched the lives of our students, helping to build and nurture our community. They will always be part of the Dragon Family. These cherished Ste. Genevieve County R-II family members are listed below.

  • Martha Bahr, cook, 1993 - 2021

  • Michael Cook, art teacher, 1989 - 2021

  • Julia Fallert, social studies teacher, 1995 - 2021

  • Christopher Hoehne, principal, 2007 - 2021

  • Donna Huck, administrative assistant, 1997 - 2003, 2007 - 2020

  • Wilburn J. Madison, custodian, 1995 - 2011, 2015 - 2021

  • Jill Naeger, speech/language pathologist, 1994 - 2021

  • Tina Oberle, special education teacher, 2000 - 2021

  • Nichole Reed, math teacher, 1998 - 2020

  • Kristen Ritter, finance coordinator, 1995 - 2021

  • Donna Roth, paraprofessional, 2007 - 2020

  • Keith Schweiss, director of maintenance, 1994 - 2021

  • Teresa Sedgwick, home economics teacher, 2001 - 2021

We would also like to take this opportunity to honor and remember our Ste. Genevieve County R-II family member and 2020 retiree Nichole Reed, employed from 1998 to 2020, who passed away in October. Mrs. Reed was a dedicated math teacher for 22 years at SG R-II. She coached Natural Disasters volleyball and was the Student Council Sponsor. Mrs. Reed was greatly loved by students and co-workers, and she is dearly missed.

25 Years Milestone

Each year, the district recognizes those staff members who have spent 25 years in their field for their perseverance and unyielding dedication. The employees who reached this milestone this year include: 

  • Dr. Julie Flieg, superintendent, Ste. Genevieve County R-II School District

  • Mrs. Dawn Nickelson, cook, Ste. Genevieve Campus

  • Mrs. Ann Reynolds, fifth grade teacher, Ste. Genevieve Elementary

Degrees, Awards & Other Achievements

We would also like to recognize the following staff members for earning degrees, awards and other achievements this year:

  • Bre Uzzell - Masters in French, Fulbright-Hays Seminar Abroad to Morocco

  • Dr. Emily Curten - Doctorate in Educational Leadership

  • Dr. Julie Flieg - MASA 2021 Emerging Superintendent for the Southeast Region

  • Ashley Bauman - Master’s in Teacher Leadership

  • Athena McKlin - Specialist in Education

  • Kelly Sulkowski - SEMOSCA 2020-2021 Secondary Counselor of the Year

  • Jill Naeger - ASHA ACE (American Speech-Language-Hearing Association) 2nd Award for Continuing Education

  • Stephanie Sulser - Master’s in Elementary & Secondary Administration

Ste. Genevieve County R-II would like to congratulate each of these individuals listed above. Dr. Flieg and Dr. Taylor would also like to thank our SG family (students, parents, employees and community members) for their perseverance, understanding, and dedication over this past school year. We will see you all again in August!